EMPT & Present: Gold For Breakfast Vol. 1 by Casey Mendoza

I hope ya’ll are in a party mood because today EMPT & announce the first mixtape from new DJ/production group Casey Mendoza, aka myself and Kevin Casey. If you’ve been to one of our Noctambule parties the energy in this tape will bring you back to the debauchery and possibly make you start jumping so be ready to move when you’re listening. Ideal playing time for this tape is no earlier than 11:20 PM or in the gym. If that Rex Ryan / Justice intro doesn’t get you going then you must be a Patriots fan but it’s ok Tom Brady lovers can enjoy the gold too…

Last year, hey we we’re under the radar that’s a good place to be F&^K THAT! The best place to be is when expectations are high, get use to it, it’s always gonna be that way…
We don’t give a shit if you give us your best game, we’re gonna give you our best game and we’re gonna beat the f*#k out of you. How’s that? Lets go get it!

If you’ve been here before you know how serious I take entertainment and that intro is exactly how I feel about what Casey Mendoza represents – showtime. We’re here to put on a show no one has seen before, we don’t care if other DJ’s are selling you short cause we’re coming strong. There’s all sorts of blends, mash-ups, mixes happening here with 3 or 4 songs playing simultaneously at times! It’s hard to tell where a song starts and another begins but here’s the tracklist for the curious ones…

Et Musique Pour Tous & BROBIBLE Present: Gold For Breakfast Vol. 1 by caseymendoza



1. Intro:
Rex Ryan – Hard Knocks Speech / Justice – Genesis / Bill Conti – Going The Distance vs. Mobb Deep – Shook Ones (Casey Mendoza Blend)
2. Fedde Le Grand – Back & Forth (Feat Mr. V) / Steve Aoki – I’m In The House (Feat. Zuper Blahq)
3. Bombs Away – Big Booty Bitches / Kid Cudi – Embrace The Martian (Round Table Knights Remix) / Pursuit of Happiness (Them Jeans Remix)
4. Tiga – Beep Beep Beep (Crookers Remix) / Richard Vission & Static Revenger starring Luciana – I Like That (Original Mix)
5. Llyod Banks – Beamer, Benz, or Bentley (Scene Uptempo Remix) / Snoop Dogg – I Wanna Rock B-More Version)
6. Snoop Dogg – I Wanna Rock (Original) / Fat Joe – Slow Down (Ha Ha) / Snoop Dogg – Drop It Like It’s Hot
7. Slick Rick – La Di Da Di / Red Cafe – Hottest In The Hood
8. Jay-Z – 99 Problems / Red Hot Chilli Peppers – Can’t Hot
9. Kanye West – Christian Dior Denim Flow
10. Estelle – I Can Be A Freak / Chemical Brothers – Do It Again / Hyper Crush – Ayo ( Prod. By Diplo ) / Katie Perry – California Gurls [Inner Party System Remix Edit]
11. Stromae – Alors On Danse (Kanye West Remix) / Boys Noize – Oh! (A-Trak Remix) / Drake – Over
12. Drake – Forever / Tweet – Oops (Oh My) (feat. Milly Elliot) / Kanye West – Power
13. Outro:
Notorious B.I.G. – Juicy vs. DJ Quicksilva (Casey Mendoza Blend) / Vato – Speaking In Tounges / Red Cafe – I’m Ill / J.R. Writer – Go Cinderella / 9 (Elijah Wood) – “What Happens Next?”

Subscribe to our newsletter


Kevin Casey’s Sample Saturday – Bill Conti (Rocky Soundtrack) et Puff Daddy

“Victory” is as epic as it gets when it comes to rap records, and this larger than life feel all started with the sample, and the genius mind of composer Bill Conti.  Studying at the Juilliard School of Music, Conti mastered his craft, and was more than prepared when hired in 1976 to compose the music for a relatively small budget film called Rocky.  As we all know, Rockybecame a mega-hit, grossing more money than any other film that year, winning 3 Oscars (including Best Picture), and eventually becoming one of the most iconic motion pictures in American history.  The producers made back the budget a few hundred times over and the theme song “Gonna Fly Now” hit number one on the Billboard charts…Conti had done his job.  As you might expect he went on to compose the music for Rocky II (’79), Rocky III (’82), Rocky V (’90), and even Rocky Balboa (’06).  Conti achieved great success in creating music for several other films and television shows, but his fame will always be attached to what he accomplished with the unforgettable soundtrack and score to the original Rocky.

“Victory” starts out the same way as “Going The Distance” until we hear Puffy’s adlibs.  Before the drums drop, musically both records are very similar, with the exception of the “Victory” beat looping a few bar and 2 bar sequences to draw out the progression.  Biggie’s verse comes in with the kick and snare, and is comprised mostly of the 2 bar loop taken from the 0:32 mark of the sample.  No discredit to the producers, but minus a flurry of hi-hats and some other drums, the power of the “Victory” beat comes almost entirely from the work done by Bill Conti (I recommend listening to the whole piece). The work of Christopher Wallace is what makes the record itself a classic.

Bill Conti – Going The Distance

Puff Daddy & The Family – Victory

via Kevin Casey Music