Music Video

Sean Bones – Hit Me Up

Don’t forget
you can hit me up
If you’re feelin alone
when you’re needing someone
come, come on right over.”

We’re officially at the end of September and autumn is now in full swing. If you’re like me, you’re at this crossroads between embracing the chilly air and longing for the sweet languid daze of summer. Since you and I aren’t time turners and haven’t stumbled across a time vortex, we have Sean Bones’ lush track off his spring 2012 release, Buzzards Boy.

The New York based musician with a penchant for khakis and safari hats has given unto us a track epitomizing the summer schedule of waking up late, floating through the afternoon into nights crowding around a fire with friends, locals, and randoms and a few beers. Hazy guitar chords bounce alongside steel-drums and a wavy bass line work together to create a sound that is appropriately summer, but cool enough to turn up year-round when the weather comes in to bite. Bones‘ vocals aren’t anything outrageous. They’re intimate; like you and him were sitting on a beach somewhere and he decided to pull out his guitar and jam.

In a world where sounds are remixed to the point of banality, this is a track that refreshes you. It’s unpretentious, simple, and carefree. So before we turn ourselves in for the winter and hibernate, let’s take 4 minutes and reminisce in pool-side cool of Sean Bones.

Sean Bones – Hit Me Up


Le Miel du Mois by Steph Lund: Octobre

Well, the E.M.P.T. pre-party for our bigger and badder one year anniversary party was a huge success and we’d like to take a moment to thank everyone that made it out, we enjoyed your company and hope to have more and more reasons to keep celebrating, see you in November.

As many of you know, the first of the month on E.M.P.T. means a new tape from mixtape guru Steph Lund. However, I was in severe recovery mode after the party so not much got done around these parts so this months mixtape will be a day late but here nevertheless. Without further ado, here are some words from the genius herself, enjoy.

Le Miel du Mois: Octobre

The art of “the repeat”. When I fall in love with a song, its always the same, I can tell instantly whether I am going to completely love it in the first 10 seconds. This is usually followed by playing the song over and over until I can anticipate every beat and lyric.

Le Miel du Mois repeats one of my new favorite artists: UK’s The xx. Enjoy, and be sure to: repeat.”

Le Miel du Mois at work? That’s much better than work at work! Télécharger or Download (clic droit+enregistrer sous)

  1. The Xx – Intro
  2. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Soft Shock (Them Jeans Acoustic Remix)
  3. X-Wife – On the Radio
  4. Sleigh Bells – Infinity Guitars
  5. Tiesto – Feel It In My Bones (Feat. Tegan and Sarah)
  6. The Xx – Crystalized
  7. Metric – Gold Guns Girls
  8. Fake Blood – Fix Your Accent
  9. CSS – Let’s Make Love And Listen To Death From Above
  10. Lykke Li -  Breaking It Up
  11. Sean Bones – Dancehall
  12. Beirut – My Wife, Lost In The Wild
  13. Dntel – Last Songs
  14. LCD Soundsystem – Someone Great
  15. Cold Cave – Life Magazine
  16. Hooray for Earth – Surrounded By Your Friends