EMPT Presents – S U M M M E R : a n t i – w i n t e r 2 d by Ryan Radler

For years when it came to EMPT I’ve been a one man band man. For those of you not familiar with the term coined by contemporary painter, producer, rapper Kasseem Dean aka Swizz Beatz, that basically means that from top to bottom I’ve running the show. Of course all credit due to Steph and the beloved LMDM series and Ryan Radler’s anti-winter/summer series, both which have become ultimate delineation of what Space Age Bachelor Pad Music is about, but when it came to running the show it all started and ended with yours truly. Recently however, things have changed and with my new fancy role as Creative Director there’s no way I would be able to keep this up. That’s where Mollie, the new EMPT operations boss comes in. If you’ve noticed the new increase in output lately she’s the reason why and compared to my sporadic post when I feel like it style of operation, it’s a welcome change. It’s great to see this site take on some new legs and run faster than it ever has and for that we’re all grateful. That said, looks like we’re ready to usher in a new era for EMPT and there are many reasons to be excited.

One of those reasons is the topic of todays conversation, S u m m e r : anti-winter 2d! Yet another inspired concoction of music from sir Ryan Radler. The tape starts off with with Keljet’s lights out remix of Coldplay’s UFO and then masterfully builds to an intermission provided by Quincy’s Summer In The City. I wish I was a better writer so I could tap into all my musical knowledge, experience traveling the world and living amongst different cultures so I could accurately express how wonderful it is when Ryan brings together these worlds, times and styles so effortlessly. Don’t get it twisted my friends, you can’t get this anywhere else. Music can be so many things, one day you might feel like Skrillex’s Kill Everybody because you love how aggressive, fast and exiting it makes life feel. Another day you’re bumping Hello Nasty or Doggy Style as loud as possible because it’s flat out fresh, that’s how you want to feel and…

Nothing sounds quite like an EIGHT-OH-EIGHT!” – Beastie Boys (Super Disco Breakin’)

The music Ryan puts together can be described as a lot of things but to me it’s mostly just beautiful. When I want to feel ethereal and put life in a the right perspective that’s where I’m going. Every one of these tapes has been nothing but good vibes and somehow this guy only gets better and better. Press play, kick back and you’ll see what I mean, enjoy.

S U M M E R :  a n t i  –  w i n t e r   2 d

  1. COLDPLAY – UFO (Keljet’s Hawaiian Remix)
  2. MIIKE SNOW – The Wave
  3. THE TURTLES – Happy Together (Todd Terje aka Wade Nichols Edit)
  4. ALAN HAWKSHAW & SI BEGG – Spaced out Sportsgirl
  5. DAVE GOLD & GORDON REES – Like Summer
  6. BLACKBIRD BLACKBIRD – Modern Disbelief
  7. QUINCY JONES – Summer In The City
  8. RÜFÜS – Paris Collides (Dante Nou Remix)
  9. EDDA MAGNASON – Jona (Vidderna Remix) (Niva Remix)
  10. WALTER SOBCEK – Hollywood Cries (Video Mix)
  11. DITT INRE – Månljus (Saknad)
  12. PERSEUES – Russian Girlfriends
  13. WILDCAT! WILDCAT! – Mr. Quiche (The Dirty Tees Official Remix)
  14. GOLDROOM – Nights In Nantes
  15. GOLDROOM – City Girls
  16. ADVENTURE – Meadows
  17. DIRTY BEACHES – True Blue