Tegan and Sara – I Was A Fool (Monsieur Adi Remix)

Screen shot 2012-03-31 at 9.40.43 PM

I attended my second “real” concert on April 16, 2005 (the first was Green Day‘s “American Idiot” tour). The Killers were touring in support of “Hot Fuss,” a true modern rock masterpiece on which I was completely hooked. My 8th grade self felt important, almost as if I were a 10th grader. Upon entering The Wiltern Theater (presented by LG), I was initially surprised: there were no seats in front of the stage. My dad had purchased balcony tickets, so my first pit exposure would have to wait.

The opener was an underwhelming girl group, two sisters, called Tegan and Sara. I was counting down the minutes to the band I was there to see, who absolutely tore the roof off the place (remember when The Killers were good?).

I didn’t pay much attention to Tegan and Sara, though the next day I did Limewire one song that I had enjoyed: “Walking with a Ghost.”

Raise your hand if you knew that Tegan and Sara started in 1995. Yea, no one. Opening for The Killers was one of their biggest gigs to date, and “Walking with a Ghost” was the song that launched them to the festival circuit. Almost 20 years on, Tegan and Sara are bigger than ever, producing heartfelt ballad pop that resonates with plenty of folks who won’t admit it.

Their soaring voices have become a favorite for DJs, and countless remixes are floating out there. The whole thing started when Tiesto, the 45 year-old “I’m not even trying” DJ mogul, featured them on “Feel It In My Bones” and then remixed “Back In Your Head.”

Monsieur Adi has clearly been listening to Daft Punk. This remix echoes both the “Tron: Legacy” soundtrack and the Julian Casablancas-featuring “Instant Crush” off “Random Access Memories.” It does what a good remix should do in that it sounds like it could be an original track. The vocals fit perfectly with the triumphant synths, and the steady beat maintains the song’s easy listening quality.

You won’t hear this one in the club, but you will hear it on your friend’s next road trip mixtape.

Tegan and Sara – I Was A Fool (Monsieur Adi Remix)


Le Miel du Mois by Steph Lund: Octobre

Well, the E.M.P.T. pre-party for our bigger and badder one year anniversary party was a huge success and we’d like to take a moment to thank everyone that made it out, we enjoyed your company and hope to have more and more reasons to keep celebrating, see you in November.

As many of you know, the first of the month on E.M.P.T. means a new tape from mixtape guru Steph Lund. However, I was in severe recovery mode after the party so not much got done around these parts so this months mixtape will be a day late but here nevertheless. Without further ado, here are some words from the genius herself, enjoy.

Le Miel du Mois: Octobre

The art of “the repeat”. When I fall in love with a song, its always the same, I can tell instantly whether I am going to completely love it in the first 10 seconds. This is usually followed by playing the song over and over until I can anticipate every beat and lyric.

Le Miel du Mois repeats one of my new favorite artists: UK’s The xx. Enjoy, and be sure to: repeat.”

Le Miel du Mois at work? That’s much better than work at work! Télécharger or Download (clic droit+enregistrer sous)

  1. The Xx – Intro
  2. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Soft Shock (Them Jeans Acoustic Remix)
  3. X-Wife – On the Radio
  4. Sleigh Bells – Infinity Guitars
  5. Tiesto – Feel It In My Bones (Feat. Tegan and Sarah)
  6. The Xx – Crystalized
  7. Metric – Gold Guns Girls
  8. Fake Blood – Fix Your Accent
  9. CSS – Let’s Make Love And Listen To Death From Above
  10. Lykke Li -  Breaking It Up
  11. Sean Bones – Dancehall
  12. Beirut – My Wife, Lost In The Wild
  13. Dntel – Last Songs
  14. LCD Soundsystem – Someone Great
  15. Cold Cave – Life Magazine
  16. Hooray for Earth – Surrounded By Your Friends