Le Miel du Mois by Steph Lund: Octobre

Well, the E.M.P.T. pre-party for our bigger and badder one year anniversary party was a huge success and we’d like to take a moment to thank everyone that made it out, we enjoyed your company and hope to have more and more reasons to keep celebrating, see you in November.

As many of you know, the first of the month on E.M.P.T. means a new tape from mixtape guru Steph Lund. However, I was in severe recovery mode after the party so not much got done around these parts so this months mixtape will be a day late but here nevertheless. Without further ado, here are some words from the genius herself, enjoy.

Le Miel du Mois: Octobre

The art of “the repeat”. When I fall in love with a song, its always the same, I can tell instantly whether I am going to completely love it in the first 10 seconds. This is usually followed by playing the song over and over until I can anticipate every beat and lyric.

Le Miel du Mois repeats one of my new favorite artists: UK’s The xx. Enjoy, and be sure to: repeat.”

Le Miel du Mois at work? That’s much better than work at work! Télécharger or Download (clic droit+enregistrer sous)

  1. The Xx – Intro
  2. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Soft Shock (Them Jeans Acoustic Remix)
  3. X-Wife – On the Radio
  4. Sleigh Bells – Infinity Guitars
  5. Tiesto – Feel It In My Bones (Feat. Tegan and Sarah)
  6. The Xx – Crystalized
  7. Metric – Gold Guns Girls
  8. Fake Blood – Fix Your Accent
  9. CSS – Let’s Make Love And Listen To Death From Above
  10. Lykke Li -  Breaking It Up
  11. Sean Bones – Dancehall
  12. Beirut – My Wife, Lost In The Wild
  13. Dntel – Last Songs
  14. LCD Soundsystem – Someone Great
  15. Cold Cave – Life Magazine
  16. Hooray for Earth – Surrounded By Your Friends

Tegan and Sarah – Walking With a Ghost

From Wu-Tang Killer Bee’s to indie rocks favorite (only?) identical lesbian twin sisters Tegan & Sara. Just go with it, I think abstract but it makes sense, I promise.

I have a bunch of new music to release but as I was writing another post Walking With A Ghost came on thanks to my iTunes shuffle and I was taken back to one of my life’s favorite years – 2004. I was a senior in college at the time and so relating to any relationship songs was not exactly happening but this song made sense.

I was walking with a ghost, I said please, please don’t insist.
No matter which way you go. No matter which way you stay.
Your out of my mind, out of my mind…”

The songs lyrics are repetitive, simple yet extremely meaningful. While telling someone that being with them was like being with a ghost is a bit harsh, we’ve all been in those relationships that just don’t work but drag on and on, things aren’t exactly bad nor are they really any good. At that point you do kinda feel like your with a ghost or even stranger, you are a ghost yourself. That might not make any sense at all to some but atleast Tegan and Sara know what I’m talking about, ; ). Enjoy.

Oh yeah and here’s a new and amazing Tiësto & TS collaboration called feel it in my bones. It’s either going to be on Tiëstos upcoming Kaleidoscope or T&S’s Sainthood, either way it’s pretty damn good, enjoy.

Tegan and Sarah – Walking With a Ghost

Tiesto – Feel It In My Bones (Feat. Tegan and Sara)